訂閱我們

© 2011 by BFE DIAMONDS (HK) LIMITED

 鑽石的歷史 

 

鑽石是碳的碎片。 原子排列的方式使得鑽石和另一種類型的碳之間存在差異。 在高壓,高溫和缺氧的結合下,天然鑽石在地幔中85到115英里(相當於136到184公里)之間形成。 大多數天然鑽石需要數百萬年才能出現在地球表面。 同樣值得注意的是,鑽石是地球上最硬的材料。

未經琢磨的鑽石主要存在於南部非洲,澳大利亞,西伯利亞和加拿大(見地圖)。 顏色通常為黃色,灰色或棕色至無色。 很少有未經琢磨的鑽石可以被發現為藍色,綠色,黑色,粉紅色,紫色,橙色,最罕見的是紅色。

 

了解鑽石首先要了解被稱為 4 C's 的四個主要特徵:

 

 

鑽石的 4C 標準可幫助任何人包括專家、消費者對鑽石進行評級,比較和設定價格。 找到適合您的鑽石是在這些特性之間進行權衡,同時考慮到您的預算。

簡而言之,鑽石的價格是基於它的稀有性而4C則定義鑽石的稀有性和獨特性。 鑽石是一種非常昂貴的商品,主要是因為它的稀有性。

 

「每顆鑽石是獨一無二的」

4C's: The Carat

 

克拉數表示鑽石的重量。 一克拉相當於0.2克,所以五克拉鑽石的重量是一克。 一克拉分為100分,所以通常當鑽石低於1克拉時,假設半克拉,它可稱為50分鑽石。

 

如前所述,鑽石的價格在於它的稀有性。 一般來說,隨著鑽石的重量增加,它的稀有性和價值也隨之增加。 鑽石越大,越稀有性(考慮到其他因素保持不變)。 因此,當鑽石尺寸增加時,鑽石的價格將呈指數級增長。

 

克拉重量和切割之間存在很大的相關性。 根據切割,兩個具有相同重量的鑽石可具有不同的尺寸外觀。

4C's: the carat 克拉

 

4C's: the color 顏色

根據其個別成分,鑽石的顏色可能會有不同的色調。 鑽石由碳原子構成,但98%的鑽石也含有微量氮元素。 由於晶體結構中存在氮,棕色和黃色色調是兩種普遍常見的顏色。

鑽石的顏色是 從D(無色)到 Z(淡黃)依序排列分級,D色鑽石是無色的。未經訓練的眼睛是很難看到兩個顏色等級之間的差異。

 

4C's: the cut 車工

鑽石的切割指的是在拋光過程中選擇鑽石的成形樣式。 切割指的是形狀(圓形,綠寶石形切割,上丁方形,梨形,橢圓形等)。 它還表示鑽石的比例,對稱性,角度和拋光。 這將定義鑽石無與倫比的光彩,美麗和珍貴。 當比例或對稱性偏離時 - 例如過淺或過深的亭部(包括鑽石不同部分的圖片) - 會發生漏光,鑽石的光線將被扭曲或反映在其他方面,使鑽石不那麼明亮。

切割是受工匠的巧手而影響的參數。 實現最佳車工不是增加或減少刻面的數量; 而是工匠使用其技術提高鑽石的外觀美態:最大亮度,火光和圖案。 專家的兩個主要目標是:提供最精緻優美的亮度和最大化尺寸外觀。

 

4C's: the clarity 淨度

清晰度描述了天然夾雜物(也稱為內部瑕疵)和外部瑕疵。 夾雜物(內部瑕疵)在晶體結構內自然產生,而外部瑕疵的存在則來自自然和/或人為操縱(例如切割)。

幾乎每顆鑽石都有一些夾雜物或瑕疵。 鑽石在10倍放大率下作分級。 下表總結了每個淨度等級在10倍放大鏡之下可以檢測到的內容,鑽石的清晰度越高,它就越罕見和有價值。

subscribe for updates

© 2011 by BFE DIAMONDS (HK) LIMITED

 History of Diamonds 

 

 

A diamond is a fragment of carbon. The way the atoms are arranged makes the difference between a diamond and another type of carbon. Natural diamonds are formed at a depth between 85 and 115 miles (equivalent to 136 to 184 km) in the Earth mantle, due to a combination of high pressure, high temperature and an absence of oxygen. Most natural diamonds take millions of years to appear at Earth’s surface. It is also noticeable to say that diamond is the hardest material on Earth.

 

Rough diamonds are mainly found in Southern Africa, Australia, Siberia, and Canada (see map). The color is typically yellow, gray, or brown to colorless. Rarely rough diamonds can be discovered as blue, green, black, pink, violet, orange and the most rare are red.

 

Learning about diamonds begins with an understanding of the four main characteristics known as the 4 C’s:

 

 

These features help anyone from the rough expert to the final consumer to grade, compare, and eventually price diamonds. Finding the diamond that suits you is a tradeoff between these features, taking into account the amount of money you want to spend.

 

In a few words, the price of a diamond is based on its rarity and the 4C’s define the diamond’s rarity and uniqueness.  The diamond is a very expensive commodity, mainly due to its rarity.

 

''no two diamonds are alike''

4C's: The Carat

 

The number of carats represents the weight of a diamond. One carat is the equivalent of 0.2 grams, so the weight of a five carat diamond is one gram. A carat is divided into 100 points, so usually when the diamond is lower than 1 carat, let’s say half a carat, it may be referred to as a 50 point diamond.

 

As mentioned previously, the rarity sets the price of a diamond. Generally as a diamond’s weight increases, so does its rarity and value. The bigger the diamond is, the rarer it is (considering the other factors remain the same). Therefore, the price of a diamond will increase exponentially when its size increases.

 

There is a big correlation between the carat weight and the cut. Depending on the cut, two diamonds with an identical weight may have different size appearance.

4C's: the carat

 

4C's: the color

Depending on their individual composition, diamonds may show different hues in their color. Diamonds are made of carbon atoms but 98% of diamonds also have trace elements of Nitrogen. The brown and yellow shades, the two most popular colors, are due to the presence of the Nitrogen within the crystal structure.

 

The colour scale of diamonds is from D to Z with D colour diamonds being colourless and increasing the presence of
colour to the letter Z. The difference between two grades is subtle and complex to see with the untrained eye.

 

4C's: the cut

The cut of a diamond refers to the style chosen when shaping a diamond during the polishing process. The cut refers to the shape (brilliant, emerald, Asscher, pear, oval, etc.). It also denotes the proportions, symmetry, angles and polish of the diamond. This will in turn define how brilliant, beautiful and valuable the diamond is. When the proportions or symmetry are off – such as a shallow or deep pavilion (include picture of different parts of a diamond) – light leakage will occur, therefore, the diamond will be less brilliant.

The cut is a parameter that is determined by the skill of the craftsman’s hand. Achieving the best cut for an expert is not about increasing or reducing the number of facets; instead it is about using skills to deliver maximum brightness, sparkle and pattern from within the diamond. The two mains goals of an expert are: providing the most exquisite brilliance and maximizing the size appearance.

 

4C's: the clarity

The clarity describes the quality of a diamond in relation to the internal presence of so-called inclusions, and surface appearances known as blemishes. The presence of inclusions occurs naturally within the crystal structure, while the presence of blemishes comes from both nature and/or human manipulation (such as cutting).

 

Almost every diamond has some inclusions or blemishes. A diamond is graded under 10x magnification. The table below summarizes what can be detected with a 10x loupe for each clarity grade, see figure 6. The higher the clarity of a diamond, the more rare and valuable it is.